The Red Baron

Subscribe

How do you portray the most famous flying ace of the First World War?

This month we’re joined by Prof Ingrid Sharp (Leeds) to discuss Baron Manfred von Richtofen also known as ‘The Red Baron’. Along the way we examine the ways his myth evolved during the war, the ways he was appropriated by the Nazis, and the threat he posed to Snoopy.

If you would like to join Chris for the launch of his new book The History and Politics of Star Wars: Death Stars and Democracythe event is on August 13, 2022 at 11AM PST / 1PM CST / 7PM BST. You can find the registration details here.

References

The Red Baron (2008)

Dresden (2006)

Valkyrie (2008)

Life and Death of Colonel Blimp (1943)

Revenge of the Red Baron (1994)

Joyeux Noel (2005)

Red Baron (1990 video game)

John Buchan, Mr Standfast (1919)

WE Johns, Biggles

Chris Kempsall, The History and Politics of Star Wars (2022)

Manfred von Richthofen, Der rote Kampfflieger (1917)

Baroness Kunigunde von Richthofen, Mein Kriegstagebuch (1937)

Charles Schulz, Snoopy vs the Red Baron

Other episodes

The King’s Men

What happens if you combine the First World War with an action-adventure film?

Textiles

How are embroidery, and the women who do it, portrayed in the years after the First World War?